Well, we’ve made it to day 5! Today’s topic is a song that reminds you of someone.

A song that reminds me of someone, has got to be “Photograph” by Ed Sheeran. This song came out right when I graduated high school. I was fortunate enough to attend a special event with one of my best friends in NYC, about three weeks before graduation, where Ed played a few songs off his new album, before it was released. This is where I first heard “Photograph.” I remember looking at my friend and knowing exactly what was going on in their head. In only a short few weeks, we would be going our separate ways. I was going to school three hours away, my friend was staying back home. We knew everything was going to change. It was scary. We were moving on and realizing friendships and family would no longer be the same. Everything was changing around us, but there was no way to stop it. All we knew is that we had the memories we created with the ones we love, to carry with us forever.

A year later, I was back home from my first year away at college. My friends and I got together and headed to NYC on a 4:30 am train to see Ed Sheeran perform on Good Morning America. Once there, Ed played “Photograph.” It instantly put me back in time to where I was a year ago, thinking about how different things would become in just one short year. It turns out, things really weren’t that different. While the world changes around us, our love and memories of family and friends will always remain the same.

Give it a listen:

Leave a Reply

